Brencis D. Smith

Councilmember, Ward 2 President

Keith R. Sydnor

Councilmember, Ward 2

Carl DeWalt

Councilmember, Ward 1

Martin Mitchell

Councilmember, At Large

James Kole

Councilmember, Ward 1

The City Council is the legislative body of the City of Laurel, and as elected representatives of the citizens, consider and enact resolutions, regulations, and ordinances for the protection of rights and privileges, peace and good government, and safety and health of all citizens.

About the City Council

City Councilmembers shall be persons of known integrity, experience and sound judgment, not less than twenty-one (21) years of age, citizens of the United States, shall be registered to vote in City elections and residents of the City for the one year immediately preceding the date of the election. Each Councilmember shall hold his or her office for two (2) years from the fourth Monday in November after the election.

Your Representatives

The government of the City of Laurel is vested in a Mayor and five (5) elected City Council members.  To find out more about your representative, click on your representative's name to go to their biography page.  To find out what voting ward you reside in, please check the Voting Wards Map.


More Resources

Maryland Municipal League (MML)

Prince George's County Municipal Association (PGCMA)